Monday, September 30, 2013

Getting Pumped Up for General Conference


General Conference Cover Photo
general conference cinnamon rolls- Summer 

Like hundreds of thousands of other families around the world tonight we just finished out Semi-Annual General Conference Prep Family Night.  (The Annual occurs in April).  General Conference is one of my favorite times of the year.  There is the family togetherness as we gather at my parents house with the siblings and grand kids, Donuts on Saturday, Cinnamon Rolls on Sunday, getting dress up to go to priesthood with my Dad, and getting dressed up in our Pajamas for other sessions at home. 

   My sister, Munchie’s Mama, posted my wife’s General Conference Cinnamon Roll recipe as well as some other fun packets to keep the kids busy/engaged in conference.  I wanted to post about I am doing, and you can do, as an adult to get ready for conference.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

How to Watch Downton Abbey Season 4 Before it Airs in the US

Downton Abbey Season 4
   Last year we posted How to Watch Downton Abbey Season 3 in the US Before it Airs on PBS.  It is the most popular post we ever had!  So naturally with the new season starting this Sunday in the UK we wanted to let you all know how to watch it before it airs in the US in 2014.

   If you are one of our UK readers you can simply go to iTV's website (the English broadcaster of Downton Abbey) and watch it from their site.  But if you are here in America you get an error, "This Video in not Available to Play in Your Region."  It is a rotten thing that iTV & PBS make us wait 4 months to see Downton Abbey here in the US.

Monday, September 9, 2013

General Conference Cinnamon Rolls Recipe & Activities

 

general conference cinnamon rolls- Summer

My sister Summer is the voice behind Made by Munchie’s Mama.  She recently shared some great General Conference traditions as well as my wife’s awesome General Conference Cinnamon Roll recipe.  My wife doesn’t care for Banana Pancakes or Jack Johnson she started making these beauties.  Even though they are very sweet we typically don’t give our kids sugar during the first year.  My dad thought it would be funny to give one of our 10 month olds ice cream in the other room while we were over for a visit one day.  My wife cursed him with no more General Conference Cinnamon Rolls.  He thought it was a joke until we showed up two months later to watch Conference empty handed.  He quickly apologized and the next April called to see if she had forgiven him yet. (and if she was bringing Cinnamon Rolls) 

“Every six months our Church holds a General Conference where we hear messages from our church leaders through a television broadcast.  My family lovingly referred to it as Pajama church since we would roll out of bed and gather in the living room to watch the broadcast.  My Dad always makes banana pancakes and when my brother got married, his wife added the tradition of making cinnamon rolls too.  They are to die for and since our next General Conference is coming up in October I thought I would share the recipe with you all.  Trust me that you are going to want to pin this sucker for your next brunch, shower or Sunday morning.

 

This recipe is super quick and easy and great for bakers from beginning to advanced.  I have no idea how to use yeast and I have yet to screw it up.  The rolls always turn out golden and flakey on the outside and soft, chewy and just the right amount of gooey on the inside.  It's spiral perfection.

General Conference Cinnamon Rolls

Adapted from All Recipes.com

Ingredients:
Dough:
1 cup warm milk
2 eggs, room temperature
½ c margarine, melted
4 ½ c bread flour
1 t salt
½ c white sugar
2 ½ t bread machine yeast
Filling:
1 c brown sugar
1 ½ T ground cinnamon
1/3 c butter, softened
Frosting:
1-3 oz package of cream cheese
¼ c butter
1 ½ c confectioners’ sugar
½ t vanilla
1/8 t salt

Place ingredients in the pan of the bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Select dough cycle; press start…”

For the rest of the recipe and more great ideas read the full article here.

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

New to Watch Instantly on Netflix - 8.3.13



Your source for Netflix news is back just in time for an extended weekend. September 1st brings in a fresh batch filled with some oldies but goodies. Men In Black, There Will Be Blood, The Seven Year Itch, Fear and Loathing in Las VegasRequim For A Dream and the classic, Zoolander!!
50 First Dates (2004)
In this offbeat romantic comedy, marine veterinarian Henry Roth changes his womanizing ways after he falls for pretty art teacher Lucy Whitmore. Trouble is, she has no short-term memory, so Henry has to win her over again every day.

Breakin' All the Rules (2004)
Upon being dumped by his fiancée, a spurned lover (Jamie Foxx) authors a book on how to deal with the undeniable ups and downs of the break-up process. But everyone (including the author) is caught off guard when the book becomes a best-seller. Co-stars Gabrielle Union, Morris Chestnut, Jennifer Esposito and Peter MacNicol.

read more

Monday, September 2, 2013

Miley Cyrus and Robin Thicke: Victims or Perpetrators of Lasciviousness

 
uptown-Lucas-JacksonReutersLandov
   There has been a lot of talk this week about the “performance” by Miley Cyrus and Robin Thicke at this year’s MTV Video Music Awards.  For those of you who missed it, you can see the video on our Facebook Page, along with the tongue lashing we got from concerned readers.  There are a lot of issues at hand here and I wanted to break them down one by one.  While some of the themes are mature, if you were old enough to stay up late and watch the show, you are old enough to know the messages it was sending.

Saturday, August 31, 2013

The Great Gatsby (2013): Mormon Movie Review

the_great_gatsby_movie-wide
Quality: stars_2
   A few months back we talked about The Great Gatsby on our Podcast that we do with the Mormon Movie Guy.  I hadn’t seen it yet, so I got to pick his brain a bit.  Most of what I feared was true, but my mom recently purchased the Blu-Ray (even though we advised not to in our most recent episode) so I went over to watch it as a double date with my wife and parents.  I always have an open mind when seeing a movie, contrary to a comment we will read in the next podcast episode.

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Mormons and Hollywood: 5 Fun Facts

Source: LDS Living
The history of Mormons and Hollywood is more exciting and far-reaching than most people realize. Check out these five ways Church members have left their mark in television and on the silver screen.
 
12071
1. Battlestar Galactica, a television series that aired in 1978 and 1979, was created by Church member Glen A. Larson and includes several references to Mormon doctrine.
For example, in the show, the colonies originated from the planet Kobol (thought to be an anagram of Kolob) and were governed by a "council" or "quorum" of twelve. And in the episode War of the Gods, Part 2, angels (or advanced beings) explain, "As you are now, we once were; as we are now, we may become." Sound familiar? Compare it to Lorenzo Snow's famous couplet, "As man is now, God once was; as God is now, man may become." Even marriages were referred to as sealings that lasted "not only for now, but for all eternity."
Larson also worked on other popular television shows such as The Six Million Dollar Man, The Fall Guy, Magnum P.I., and Knight Rider.
12061
Photo from
imdb.com

Linkwithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...