Coronavirus: Waterloo Region, municipalities declare state of emergency

The Region of Waterloo and its seven municipalities have each declared a state of emergency in response to the growing novel coronavirus pandemic.

Mayors for area cities (Kitchener, Cambridge and Waterloo) and townships (North Dumfries, Wellesley, Wilmot and Woolwich) joined Regional Chair Karen Redman in signing declarations on Wednesday morning.

In a release, the region and municipalities say this will allow Redman and the mayors “to take actions or make orders to protect the inhabitants of the municipality and increases the ability of municipalities to share resources, personnel and equipment to respond and support the broader public sector and key services.”

Redman says the states of emergency will remain in place until they are lifted by the heads of government.

Source: Read Full Article