US election 2020: How long will Donald Trump stay in the White House if he loses?

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

The US election 2020 will see Americans across the country head to the polls to elect their next leader. President Donald Trump is currently polling 9.4 percentage points behind his Democratic challenger Joe Biden. But how long will Donald Trump remain in office if he loses the US election in November?

The US election on Tuesday, November 3 is fast approaching and experts are divided about the outcome.

The latest polls show Mr Biden leading with a 52.3 percent average compared to Mr Trump’s 42.8 percent according to poll aggregator FiveThirtyEight.

This a percentage point lead of 9.4 for the Democratic hopeful.

A surge in early voting is pointing to a massive turnout in the US election despite fears suggesting the coronavirus pandemic could dampen participation in the election.

So far 63 million people in America have voted early, which is four million more than the total number of coronavirus votes cast in 2016.

Instead of agreeing to leave office peacefully, when asked about what happens if he loses the election, Mr Trump rails against voter fraud and a rigged election.

The 45th US President has declined to commit to a peaceful transfer of power if he loses the election.

He said: “We’re going to have to see what happens.

“You know that I’ve been complaining very strongly about the ballots, and the ballots are a disaster.

“Get rid of the ballots and we’ll have a very peaceful – there won’t be a transfer, frankly. There will be a continuation.

“The ballots are out of control.”

How long will Donald Trump stay in the White House if he loses?

November 2 will be the last day of the US election campaigns and the deadline for several postal votes.

The next day US voters will head to polling stations to cast their ballots.

All polls will close by 1am EST (5am GMT).

Over several days, up to November 20 and potentially beyond deadlines for mail-in ballots will take place in different states.

Why Barack Obama ‘stopped Joe Biden running in 2016’ [INSIGHT]
Trump mocks Joe Biden after embarrassing ‘George’ blunder [EXPLAINER]
SNP faces legal challenge over ‘unreasonable’ election decision [ANALYSIS]

On December 8, the “safe-harbour” deadline will take place where states resolve any controversies over the selection of their electors of the Electoral College.

The 117th United States Congress will convene with members elected in November 2020 on January 3, 2021.

The Electoral votes will be formally counted on January 6 before a joint session of the Congress and the President of the Senate will formally announce the electoral result.

The process concludes on Inauguration Day which will take place on January 20 as the president’s term expires at noon on this day under the Constitution.

Between November 3 and January 20, the US undergoes a presidential transition whereby the powers of the US president are transferred from an incumbent president to the president-elect.

This transition formally takes place between election day which is the first Tuesday after November 1 and inauguration day.

The outgoing president is commonly referred to as a lame-duck president.

Experts claim this period is one of the key moments for potential mayhem in the US political system.

If President Trump were to lose he could refuse to commit to a peaceful transfer of power.

CNN presidential historian Timothy Naftali told “Trump’s personality and the patterns of his presidency suggest that should he lose in November, we will see a fraught transition with elements of the first two traditional kinds of trouble.

“A defeated Trump would likely attempt some poisonous legacy-building before leaving office.”

How many US presidents have lost out on a second term?

Out of the 45 presidents who have held office, 10 have failed to win a second term when they have attempted to do so.

These individuals include:

  • John Adams
  • John Quincy Adams
  • Grover Cleveland
  • Benjamin Harrison
  • William Howard Taft
  • Herbert Hoover
  • Gerald Ford
  • Jimmy Carter
  • George H W Bush.

John F Kennedy was assassinated before he could run for a second term.

Source: Read Full Article